Seriously No Politics ×

Opinion On Legality Of "Divine Investiture" Example?

An example I have used to illustrate "divine investiture of authority" is this:

Years ago, I used to work as an office manager for a member of my ward. I ordered and maintained inventory, interviewed and hired/fired people, did payroll, paid bills and maintained licenses, etc. The boss was rarely in the office (a major consideration for hiring me ---- he wanted someone competent he could trust to enable him to not have to come in very often). I usually generated checks off of the computer, but sometimes I had to do a handwritten check out of a ledger-style binder of checks. He showed me how to write his signature and instructed me to sign his name to checks that needed to be done (he trusted my judgment and competency, and he was available via phone or email if I had any questions or concerns).

When using this as an example of DIoA in a combined 5th Sunday meeting (he and I are two separate people, yet when acting in his behalf, my signature *was* his signature because he authorized and recognized it as such), a member of my ward who is a police officer told me afterwards that this was actually illegal and constituted forgery. I disagreed with him on grounds that it would only be illegal if he filed charges, but wasn't because he recognized the signature as his own. We continue to "agree to disagree" about this, and needle each other about this (he's in our high priest group leadership).