Alternate Authorship Bom Theories-problems

Luigi

While I'll admit I'm no expert in all the alternate BoM authorship theories-they all seem to have two fundamental problems with me.

1.They require people to keep their mouth shut when they have little or no reason to.

I don't know-but if I had made significant contributions to a book and received no credit I think I would just be itching to tell someone-especially once I became dissaffected from the Church that it was fundamental to. I just can't see Sidney Rigdon or Oliver Cowdery or any other collaborative author holding such a secret for their entire lives-never revealing such a secret to their spouse, children or someone who would have eventually spilled the beans as well.

2. Those involved or around during translation seemed to sincere in their belief in the BoM. Those that joined and later left the Church who knew Joseph Smith during the translation never(to my knowledge) gave indication of losing their testimony of the BoM. They all felt that the work was legitimately from God. It seems that if the BoM had been a collaborative work that those that were around at that time(after re-evaluating the interactions they saw with Joseph and scribes) or those that were purpotedly collaborating would have eventually expressed more skepticism about the BoM or would have proclaimed it a fraud. But that never happened to my knowledge.

To me the only theory that critics could take seriously is the sole authorship theory. Of course this theory runs into the problem of explaining how Joseph Smith could have done such a work given his education, etc-but it seems that is the only practical alternative left for someone who refuses to believe the BoM was a divine work.