Meg Stout Introduction

Someone reached out to let me know I was being discussed here at Mormon Dialogue. Intrigued, I decided to stop by. I felt introductions might be in order, given the nature of some of the comments.

I was born in Utah, at a time when the marriage of my Chinese father and White mother was considered "void and prohibited," though Mom tells me that due to reciprocity I don't get to claim to be a *******. They had been married in the LA temple.

I have a degree in Physics from George Mason University and was the first female civilian admitted to The Naval Postgraduate School, where I obtained a Master's Degree in Systems Engineering and Management. I have been involved in design of both warships and combat systems in my decades with the Navy. Part of what I do involves keen awareness of the boundaries of what can and cannot be said, with respect to national security, intellectual property, and acquisitions. As an endowed Mormon, I am familiar with similar boundaries in ecclesiastical circles.

Since 2001 I have been researching the polygamous marriages of my ancestors, which include the marriage of Elvira Annie Cowles to Joseph Smith and the marriage of the Welling sisters to rogue apostle, John W. Taylor.

By researching Mormon history through the lens of my ancestors, I have noticed things prior researchers never picked up on. I've written about my findings, including most recently putting my research into book form (Reluctant Polygamist), which is available via Amazon and which I have also made available as a pdf.

http://www.millennialstar.org/wp-content/uploads/2016/06/Reluctant-Polygamist-5th-edition.pdf