Does My Heart Lie To Me?

EllenMaksoud

When I started studying with the Missionaries, they could not wait to get me out of my Hijab (Head Scarf) and I have never felt right about it. Having lost most of my hair in an illness, (not cancer) exposing my hair to anyone feels uncomfortable. My Bishop has given permission to wear it, since it is not a religious symbol. Peer presure from other sisters is just oppressive and now I wear either a small hair piece or a wig.

I still feel most secure and happy wearing Hijab, and when I see other Muslim sisters, I feel really guilty. And, for me Hijab also means long sleeves and covered legs.

Mormonism is my belief full stop. That will not change, though I still have friends from other cultures including Islam. The most important issue for me between the two beliefs is Jesus Christ and increasingly my belief in the Mormon Jesus grows more firm every day.

Still, my heart longs for my Hijab, and I know that to resume wearing it, will lead to some sharp discussions with members, and possibly insulting Veterans. I am a Veteran and know how the thinking of soldiers can be. They have a right to not be insulted, including me.

I pray this will not end badly

I would talk to the Bishop and ask him if he would consider being frank with the ward one Sunday and ask the membership to be tolerant of the needs and differences of other members in the ward, in how they dress, what they wear, and how they look.  To by the spirit give them a good talking to about how judgmentalism of others, especially when they have legitimate reasons such as health for those differences is not of God.

If he is a wise Bishop he can do this in a general enough of a way that doesn't single you or others out, but is specific enough to where those guilty would know exactly what they are doing.