The End Of Mommy Sabbatical... Going Back To Work.

changed

Now that my kids are all in school, I'm heading back to school too - just got a job teaching at a local college. It will be a great job, with the same schedule as my kids so I’ll still be there for them when they need me, and I’m even going to have time to continue my volunteer work at their school.

Just wanted to throw my experiences out there to any stay-at-home moms who might be reading this / or anyone contemplating women’s roles etc. etc. I was a stay-at-home mom for 8 years. I put my career on hold (I have a PhD), and did a complete 180° switch in life. Colleagues raised their eyebrows at me, non-Mormon relatives questioned my new religion (I’m a convert) wondering about all the things it seemed to be taking away from me. I had to redefine who I was, and redefine what was important in life. Now I know life’s not about how smart you are, or how prestigious your titles are, or how much money you make – it’s about learning to be selfless, to give it all up for something better – of what real, genuine relationships are made up of, what it means to be a parent, to be a wife, a daughter – that family really is more important than any worldly accomplishments, and that the greatest work you will ever do really is within the walls of your own home.

Now that I have learned these lessons – or at least learned a lot of these lessons, have changed my goals in life (my biggest goals are now to see the kids married in the temple, to see them go on missions, and stay strong in their faith, rather than any career oriented goals) … Now that I can put my career in it’s proper perspective, I’ve been given back what I once gave up. Lose your life, and eventually you find it again…