The Purpose Of This Life Isn'T To Have Fun

I used to narcissistically delude myself that I was a writer, it started when I was a freshman in high school 17 years ago. In reality I was a fourth rate wannabe, it just took me almost two decades to realize that I have wasted my life and money on something I am no good at. Finally after 17 years and who knows how much wasted paper and time I decided today to give it up for good.

It was while I was thinking this over that it occurred to me why I had started 12+ stories and never finished them, it was because invariably it became work and wasn’t fun anymore which is why I gave up Hockey, gave up various things over the years and looked for something else to waste my time and money on.

It then occurred to me that even taking up writing was a waste to start with. In the millennium there will be no need for writers or fiction, because there will be no evil in the world people won’t need stories to tell their children, Novels I used to like, like harry potter and Tom Clancy will be just a memory. The Anime's I like won’t exist because evil in even the faintest form won’t be able to exist because the Devil will have no power.

We will all be living in a candy coated Utopia (I don't mean to sound like I am mocking the Millennium, because I am not).

We won't care about fiction, or Video games or sports or any of that and it won't exist anyway. That then made me think about the Video games and stuff I have and made me think about all the money I have wasted on them, and for what? You can't take them with you when you die, and when the Millennium arrives they won't exist anymore anyway so why have them?

This made me realize something else: the true purpose of this life never has been about having fun, if anything the purpose of this life is for us to suffer, because only by suffering do we build character and only through character do we become perfect.