Richard Bushman On The 'Book Of Mormon' Musical

Sky

I know, I know. The musical has been discussed ad nauseam, but I thought this was a particularly apt statement by Richard Bushman:

Is like looking into a fun-fouse mirror; the reflection is hilarious but not really you.

For the full article, see here.

Thoughts? Comments?

I felt this paragraph: "I studied everything and prayed hard for some kind of light. In time I arrived at a rational explanation that allowed for a miracle in the book’s production, but along the way I experienced something more important than the book itself. I caught a glimpse of a higher form of human flourishing, something forceful and ennobling which I can only call sacred. It was this encounter with a kind of elevated goodness in the book that won me over."

was the most powerful portion of the "interview."

I have been living in California and Utah for the past year while the musical "The Book of Mormon” has been packing the house on Broadway. I have not seen the show, but I have read endless reviews, listened to parts of the score, and talked with Mormon friends who have seen it. Based on what I have heard...

So, an LDS Mormon Scholar who also hasn't seen the play himself claims that Mormons who see the play find it like a fun-house mirror that doesn't really reflect them...?

Fascinating. Which Mormons is he refering to, I wonder?

I do very-much like how he concludes his article:

Wouldn’t it be wonderful if through this funny and outrageous show we got to know one another better?

Daniel2

So, an LDS Mormon Scholar who also hasn't seen the play himself claims that Mormons who see the play find it like a fun-house mirror that doesn't really reflect them...?

Fascinating. Which Mormons is he refering to, I wonder?

Real ones, probably.