A novel proof of sorts for God in ancient China

Mudcat

Check this out

I saw this in another forum and thought it might be interesting to see if you guys and gals had any feedback on the topic.

I have no experience with the Chinese language, but found it to be pretty neat.

Check this out

I saw this in another forum and thought it might be interesting to see if you guys and gals had any feedback on the topic.

I have no experience with the Chinese language, but found it to be pretty neat.

I am studying Chinese and I don't feel these are very impressive. There are many nuances in translating a given word. For instance, the character for "dust" that they use could also mean dirt or soil. In fact, I've been taught the main meaning is "soil". The character they translate as "blessing" I would translate as "wealthy". And so forth. So it seems fairly weak to take unusual translations of words and then compare them to bibilical concepts without an in depth study of the evolution of that Chinese word. For a detailed example of how you are supposed to examine the meaning and origin of words I would look at: Benjamin Wallacker "Two Concepts in Early Chinese Military Thought" Peter Lorge Ed. Warfare in China to 1600 Vermont: Ashgate Publishing, 2005, p. 235-240.

Thanks for the interesting post.