Elohim and the plurality of Gods

robuchan

I'm no Hebrew expert, so I'm perfectly willing to admit I'm wrong. But I've come across this lately and wondered what people thought.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Elohim#Hebrew_grammar

This is my understanding based on this article (and yeah I know wikipedia is not the best source).

Elohim is a complicated word and difficult to translate sometimes. It's the plural word for God but it's used a few different ways.

1) used as a singular word referring to The God, in these cases a singular verb is used with the plural Elohim, example Moses speaking to Elohim at the burning bush and Elohim creating the Earth in Genesis 1:1. This is how Elohim is generally used in the Old Testament and it is always understood the to mean The One monotheistic God of the Hebrews.

2) used as a plural referring to other false gods, as in "have no other gods before me"

3) special case in Psalms "know yet not ye are gods" which according to some experts can be properly translated as angels, kings, or judges

So how about this for a theory:

Joseph wants to retranslate the Bible. He starts in Genesis 1:1. He's using his Hebrew English dictionary and basic grammar textbook and he reads the word Elohim and sees that it's a plural word. Aha! Gods not God! He misses the fact that the Hebrew is using the singular verb and also that the whole entire Old Testament repeats the pattern plural Elohim with singular verb referring to One God. The verse appears to have had a very strong impact on Joseph. Joseph refers to this verse over and over in various sermons and each time he repeats the error. He always refers to the verse as the building block of the plurality of Gods theology.

So could the whole LDS theology of plural Gods be based on one mistake Joseph made when he was starting out learning Hebrew?

So could the whole LDS theology of plural Gods be based on one mistake Joseph made when he was starting out learning Hebrew?