JAHS

Accepting callings in the Church

Accepting Church callings  

30 members have voted

1. 1. Should a member in good standing in the church always accept a calling?

• They should accept all callings regardless of circumstances.
    • They can refuse a calling under certain circumstances.
    • They should only accept callings they feel like they can do.
    • They don't have to accept any callings

We are told that all Church callings are inspired of the Lord and because of that we should never refuse a calling,
although I am not sure who the first one to say that was.
I have only refused one calling in my life, and that was scoutmaster.
At the time I was a full-time married college student and working full-time in the evenings after school
and had no time during the week to do the calling, nor did I have any money that would be required to buy all the 
scouting stuff I would need. When I explained this to the Bishop he agreed the calling was not for me.
Has anyone else had experience refusing a calling? Should we never refuse a calling? If we do refuse does that mean we lack the faith to do it?

No.jpg.fcc764b1f5d122f37523c573b8959a08.jpg

• Like 3

Posted (edited)

I have refused several callings and no one ever had a problem with it.  Otoh, at least some of the leaders also knew I volunteered when I could and saw a need so that may have had to do something with it.  Also most were familiar with my husband since he usually was in some calling that had him high frequency of contact, so if they didn't know me well, they knew of the situation.

And I don't see it as a lack of faith, but an awareness of what God wants of me at the moment.  If he wants me out there in every calling, he can cure me.

Edited by Calm
  • Like 1